Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Share |



The Buist M. Anderson Distinguished Service Award, named after its first recipient, is bestowed by the Board of Governors on long-standing members of the Association of Life Insurance Counsel who have provided outstanding service to the Association and to the bar of the life insurance and related financial services industry, to the life insurance industry or to colleagues in the industry.


2020 Nomination Period: Due to the cancellation of the 2020 ALIC Annual Meeting, the 2020 Anderson Award Recipient, Tracy L. Rich, will be recognized at the 2021 ALIC Annual Meeting, on May 24, 2021, at the JW Marriott in Nashville, TN. Nominations for the 2022 Anderson Award will be accepted beginning in the fall of 2021. 






Tracy L. Rich

CLICK HERE to read the nomination letter for Tracy Rich



Deborah J. Long 2019
Paul J. Mason 2018
Daniel B. Seitz 2017
David Carmichael 2016
Larry Burkett 2015
Cynthia R. Shoss 2014
Wolcott Dunham, Jr. 2013
Joseph P. Rath 2012
Gary E. Hughes 2011
Thomas E. Workman 2010
Willliam A. Wilson** 2009
J. Michael Keefer 2008
Charles Bowman Strome, Jr. 2006
John J. Creedon, Jr. 2005
Jack D. Hunter 2002
Jack H. Blaine 2001
William R. Shands, Jr. 2000
Robert R. Googins 1999
A. Peter Quinn, Jr.** 1998
Robert S. Seiler 1997
Hugh S. Campbell** 1995
Abram T. Collier 1994
Buist M. Anderson** 1993




Chair Karen Shaff Principal Financial Group
Committee Member Angela Fontana Allstate Life Insurance Company
Committee Member Ray Manista Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Co.
Committee Member Teresa Rasmussen Thrivent Financial



Outstanding service to the Association can be evidenced in one or more of the following ways:

  • Presenting papers
  • Participating on panels
  • Promoting the collegiality of the Association
  • Serving as chair of a section
  • Serving on special committees
  • Serving as an elected officer
  • Serving on the Board of Governors

Outstanding service to the bar of the life insurance and related financial services industry can be evidenced in one or more of the following ways:

  • Participating in insurance-related activities of the Tort and Insurance Practice Section of the American Bar Association
  • Participating in insurance-related activities of a state or local bar association
  • Serving as an educator in insurance law
  • Contributing to legal scholarship through publication of learned articles or books on subjects of importance to the life insurance bar

Outstanding service to the life insurance industry can be evidenced in one or more of the following ways:

  • Serving on committees of the American Council of Life Insurers
  • Presenting papers to or serving as an elected officer in the Legal Section of the American Council of Life Insurers
  • Participating in the activities of other international, national or state trade associations concerned with legal and regulatory matters involving life insurance companies
  • Representing the life insurance industry before international, federal or state legislative or regulatory bodies
  • Participating in NAIC activities including membership on advisory committees
  • Holding a staff or leadership position in a life insurance trade association

Outstanding service to colleagues can be evidenced in the following way:

  • Giving willingly both time and effort to assist other lawyers in providing sound counsel and advice to their life insurance clients

These lists of ways in which outstanding service to the Association, to the life insurance bar, to the life insurance industry and to colleagues can be evidenced are not intended to be exhaustive.  Consideration may be given to other, equally laudable, service provided by a nominee.

  1. While the Anderson Award is intended to honor the recipient’s entire body of work, a recipient may still be actively engaged in, or fully retired from, their professional legal career, and may be either an active or emeritus member of the Association.  The recipient must, however, hold or have held active and substantial membership in the Association. 
  2. An individual may receive an Anderson Award only once.
  3. Governors and elected officers of the Association are not eligible to receive an Anderson Award during their tenure in office.
  4. As a general rule, the Award will not be made posthumously.  However, under compelling circumstances, the Award may be given to a deceased nominee not more than three years after the nominee’s death.

Nomination Process and Standards    |    NOMINATION FORM
  1. Nominations for the Anderson Award can only be made by current members of the Association.
  2. Members of the Distinguished Service Award Committee may nominate one or more individuals for the Anderson Award.
  3. Nominations must be submitted on the Buist M. Anderson Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form, which is available on the Association website.   
  4. The Nomination Form must be accompanied by letters from at least two other current or retired members of the Association seconding the nomination and attesting to the accuracy of the service that forms the basis for the nomination.
  5. The Nomination Form and seconding letters must be submitted to the Chairman of the Distinguished Service Award Committee, the President of the Association, the Secretary-Treasurer of the Association or to the Association’s Executive Director.
  6. All nominations and seconding letters must be submitted by December 15, preceding the Association’s Annual Meeting at which the Award, if any, will be presented.
  7. Individuals nominated, but not selected, for the Anderson Award will be automatically reconsidered for the Award in future years.  Nominees will be eliminated from consideration, however, in the event they are not selected within five years after they are first nominated.  Nominees eliminated from consideration after five years may be re-nominated
  8. The Distinguished Service Award Committee will review all nominations received by December 15, for compliance with the foregoing qualifications, criteria and standards.  The Committee will make its recommendation, if any, to the Board of Governors prior to the January meeting of the Board at which the recommendation will be considered.
  9. An affirmative vote of at least two-thirds of the entire Board is required to authorize the presentation of an Anderson Award.  Any Governor not present at the meeting at which the recommendation is considered may communicate his or her vote in writing to the Secretary-Treasurer of the Association.
  10. If the Board of Governors fails to authorize presentation of an Anderson Award to a nominee recommended by the Distinguished Service Award Committee, the nomination may, at the discretion of the Board of Governors, be referred back to the Committee for future consideration.
more Calendar

11/8/2020 » 11/9/2020
2020 ALIC Regional Insurance Counsel Roundtable

5/23/2021 » 5/25/2021
2021 Annual Meeting

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal